Laid off - RFE from VSC

Bravemind

Registered Users (C)
I was laid off from my company. Now, my lawyer says I may get an RFE from VSC asking for employment letter. I do not have a job yet. Has anyone been such a situation? All those people who got approved recently... did you get an RFE asking for employment letter?

Desperately waiting for your replies

Thanks in advance

No Title

Bravemind, its a tricky situation. but you can work it out in your favor if you act immidiately.

Once again I am not a lawyer so please contact your lawyer for the proper advise but following are my thoughts.

I have couple of questions for you.
1) Is your RFE is for employment letter or they asked for last 2 months pay stubs as well.
2) When is the dead line for responding to your RFE.

Now if INS asked only for employment letter (and if your 485 is pending for more than 6 months), then you should immidiately join another company and get employment letter from the new company. Though INS has not implemented the law, I heard that on March 23rd meeting, they verbally agreed to the contents of the new law (once again, confirm this from your lawyer or other experienced lawyers, such as Mr. Rajeev Khanna). So as per this new law, you can switch employment after 180 days. Also try to show evidence to INS that you got laid off from your old company and you did not quit intentionally. Hey you could be one of the first few who will get benefitted by the new law.