Registered Users (C)
Ok here is the situation:

I met her - 7/19/1998
Got married - 8/10/2001
Conditional GC approved - 2/12/2003
Officially Divorced - 1/5/2005
Conditional GC expires - 2/11/2005

What now?

1.) I know I can file an I-751 petition based on good faith marriage. I have plenty of proof (heck... I still have the cards filled with sweet nothings we wrote to each other when dating, ticket stubs of the first movie :( ). But is there anything else I need to know?

2.) In the meanwhile (i.e. during the pendancy of the I-751 petition), what do I do? Do I need to get an extension of the current GC? How?

3.) I plan on prosecuting the I-751 myself. I prosecuted the original GC petition myself also. I am a law student (but dont really know much about immigration law). Do you think I would still be better off going through an attorney. Does anyone know how much a lawyer would charge for something like this in California?

I am already so sad about the divorce. I've given more than 6 years of my life to this woman. And now I need to prove to someone that I was'nt faking it. :( Argh... when will this end?? :mad:

Last edited by a moderator:
lawyer fees

They charge under and close to a $1000 dollars. If u have the money please use the services of an immigration Attorney.

Also, I was under the impression that the conditional GC expires on the 2nd anniversary of your wedding date. Isn't that true?.

Baig

Also, I was under the impression that the conditional GC expires on the 2nd anniversary of your wedding date. Isn't that true?.

No, it expires 2 years after it was issued.

Jesus man. You just gave me a heart attack. No its the second anniversary of issuance of conditional GC.

How do I get a temporary extension of my current GC?

Last edited by a moderator:
diavon

diavon,

I was thinking if it was the second anniversary of your wedding, it would have been better for you. Because by now you would have removed the conditions.