J1 waiver approved (NOS)

Gazel

I used this forum to find information and wanted to share my experience with others. I participated in an exchange program for high school in 1990s and after a year in high school returned to my home country. But at the end of the summer I decided to come back to US and study in a university. I obtained F-1 visa and continued to go back home during the summer. After I graduated, I decided to get my Master degree. In the summer, I had an internship in my home country. After graduating I decided to use my practical training year and get some work experience. At that point, to be frank I didn't even think about J1 since I traveled back and forth, and received multiple F1 visas. But an issue came up when my company decided to apply for H1B - since I didn't have enough time out of the country to meet 2 year home residency requirement, they decided to change my status from F1 to H1B. The opinion was that I was there legally and everything was disclosed when they filed for H1B but I would need to either get a waiver or leave the country. I applied for immigration to Canada and moved there and to complicate situation I met my husband to be in US. The lawyer at the time mentioned that since my residency is Canada, and I would be out of the country for a while, then J1 should not be an issue. As I learned that is not the case! J1 home residence requirement still applied even if you change residency or citizenship; so I applied for a waiver based on No Objection Statement from Canada (while my husband was in US) and my file was approved.

Here is my timeline:

File Submitted (Statement of Reason, Fee, forms, etc) - December 17, 2010
Request for Sponsor Views - February 12, 2011
No Objection Statement Received - February 12, 2011
Recommendation Sent & Received - April 2, 2011
Notice of approval received - April 17, 2011