illegal immigrant trying to apply for cancellation of removal

mariawatts32910

I have been here since I was 8 im now 19. i have been married to a us citizen for two years and we have a 1 year old baby together. I dont want to file for a green card directly because I dont want them to send me to mexico. I have a good record. I was an average student in hs and me and my husband are currently in college. I want to know what are my chances of getting aproved for the cancellation of removal. Me leaving to mexico would result in my baby being left without a mother.and my husband wont be able to manage.without me because of work, school and our baby.

Are you sure that you have to rely on that option? Can you be "grandfathered" for INA 245(i)? Did anyone file anything for you or a parent before April 30, 2001? Did you simply overstay a visa way back then? It makes a big difference.

8 CFR § 1240.20 Cancellation of removal and adjustment of status under section 240A of the Act.

(a) Jurisdiction. An application for the exercise of discretion under section 240A of the Act shall be submitted on Form EOIR–42, Application for Cancellation of Removal, to the Immigration Court having administrative control over the Record of Proceeding of the underlying removal proceeding under section 240 of the Act. The application must be accompanied by payment of the filing fee as set forth in §103.7(b) of 8 CFR chapter I or a request for a fee waiver.

(b) Filing the application. The application may be filed only with the Immigration Court after jurisdiction has vested pursuant to §1003.14 of this chapter.

(c) For cases raised under section 240A(b)(2) of the Act, extreme hardship shall be determined as set forth in §1240.58 of this part.

You need to look up the two references in (c) above and read them. Find on www.uscis.gov on the laws tab.