How to legally stay in the US when on a J1 VISA?

EdMarchand

Registered Users (C)
Hello everybody,

I have questions about how to legally stay in the US when on a J1 VISA...

First, let me explain who/where I am today:

I am a 24 year old student from France who arrived in San Francisco in late July 2009 to spend a year studying at the San Francisco State University.
The year went extremely well and, once it was over, I found two different internships in a field related to my studies.
These two internships were therefore approved as "Academic Trainings" by the university.
As a result, my DS-2019 has been extended twice and is now valid until January 15th 2011. My J1 VISA did however expire in May 2010.

Aside from these "facts", you should also know that I am gay and fell in love with a wonderful man, someone whom I absolutely DO NOT WANT to abandon here on January 15th!
Because of our financial situation, we also know that having him come live with me in France is fairly unrealistic.

So far, the only options that I know I have in order to legally stay here past January 15th 2011 is being hired on a H1B VISA.

Is this really the ONE and ONLY solution I have or would there be other ways, beside the H1B route, to legally stay here past January 15th 2011?

Thanks for reading me!

Take care.

Ed.

Hi Ed,

I was in a similar situation however I am getting married in order to stay with my fiancee.
in your situation you are right about the H1B visa. That is your best bet to stay in the US. However, like andersno24 said, you first have to apply for a J1 waiver and then the "No Objection Waiver". This basically means that you have to ask permission to both your home country and the US to waive away the two year rule that was put on your J1 visa. If you do not apply for this you are not allowed to receive any other form of visa.

So first apply for the J1 waiver.