how to count two-year residency

getvisa

I have a burning question to ask for help. If this question has been tackled, I am so sorry and please refer me to the appropriate thread.

I got a J-1 visa for my Master funded by Fulbright. So the two year rule applied on my visa back then. Then I got a GA-ship for a PhD. program. I somehow did not change to F1 and obtain a J-1 visa that is now sponsored by the university. The line "two year rule applies" is still on my school-sponsored J-1 visa. My question is

Can I count towards the two-year residence the days I spend in my home country during my doctoral program? Or the count does not start until I complete the doctoral program?

Please please help me with this.

Thanks a lot.

Last edited by a moderator:
After your current J status ends, either on the end of program or you end the job and leave for two years. Go for a waiver if possible.

I have a burning question to ask for help. If this question has been tackled, I am so sorry and please refer me to the appropriate thread.

I got a J-1 visa for my Master funded by Fulbright. So the two year rule applied on my visa back then. Then I got a GA-ship for a PhD. program. I somehow did not change to F1 and obtain a J-1 visa that is now sponsored by the university. The line "two year rule applies" is still on my school-sponsored J-1 visa. My question is

Can I count towards the two-year residence the days I spend in my home country during my doctoral program? Or the count does not start until I complete the doctoral program?

Please please help me with this.

Thanks a lot.