hello everyone here, ask an emergent question

peaceinheart

Registered Users (C)
Hello everyone,
I'm a newcomer and have an emergent question to ask you guys. I sincerely hope I can get an answer from your experience. Great thanks to you in advance.
I'm a grad student and I have filed I-485 based on my wife who is having H1B visa. Right now, both of our status are "pending". In July, when all international students were asked to renew their I-20 before Aug, 1, I asked a lawyer about whether I need to renew my one. He told me that I was not an F1 anymore, I don't need to renew my I-20. But this semester I'm going to do RA. Just recently I submited my EAD application. Can anyone tell me that with my current status (no new I-20, no EAD), wether it's correct for me to do my RA? Plus, if I now apply the renewal of the I-20, is it right? I just totally got lost about my status. I also ever asked the consultant in the international student office of our univ. The answer is that whether I can do my RA is nothing to do with the immigration and I should talk with our department and the HR and payroll office of our univ. :confused: :( Hope someone here who ever experienced the same problem can give me a reply. Thanks again.

You do need F1 or EAD to do your RA. You need a SSN as well.
Check with your school lawyers.

Aren't you eligible for 1 year OPT? Or does it not cover things like RA?

F1 probably did not even have enough on-campus hours to cover RA duties. One thing is certain, you certainly need an EAD or OPT before you work.

You should not do your RA w/o one of the above.

Your status is currently AOS pending. On EAD application you should write "I-485 adjustee/AOS pending, applied MMDDYY" in the relevant line.

You can get an SSN authorizing you to work with INS permission once you show your EAD at SS administration.

Last edited by a moderator:
To peaceinheart

I am in the same boat with you.
I have never been asked to renewal my I-20. Why do u need it?