H1B Stamping Question

sandipchowta

Registered Users (C)
Hi All,

I did my bachelors over here and was graduated in May 2007. Got an internship in a company and then they offered me full time position and got my H1 in October 2008. Been working for almost 2 years now and planning to go back to my country Pakistan.

I called my company lawyer and she stated clearly that for the first time stamping i had to go back to my country. Couple of questions from you guys.

1) How long does it takes for Pakistan Embassy to get my H1 stamped and get the US visa as it has already been expired ?
2) Has anyone been rejected for H1 Stamping ?
3) What documents do i need to fill out ?

I am asking these questions because i am only getting 30 days of vacations and i've seen my cousins back in 2006 or 07 that they got their passport back in 6 months. I might loose my job by that time so wanted to make sure.
Thanks for your support.

A1: You will apply for your visa at the US embassy in Islamabad, not at the "Pakistan Embassy". It may take less than a week or may take a few months. It all depends on how long your name check takes.
A2: Yes
A3: DS-156 and DS-157 for sure. The embassy will give you a complete list of forms needed.

1) How long does it takes for Pakistan Embassy to get my H1 stamped and get the US visa as it has already been expired ?
2) Has anyone been rejected for H1 Stamping ?
3) What documents do i need to fill out ?

Thanks for the information. Actually this is what i was worried about. I think i will ask for 2 month vacation as i have read on the forums that some of the people got their stamping in 6 months.

Don't know if my company can wait that long. I just wish that the process can be a little faster.

You might be done faster then you think, it will all depend on your situation but yes, you have to take this risk. It use to be fast back in early 2000 but things have changed since then.