H1B applying GC through Marriage - When Can I legally quit my current job?

burbankuser

Registered Users (C)
Hello,

I am currently on H1B visa and recently married to USC. I sent my GC applications to Chicago lock box a week ago (I-130, I-485, EAD application...). My husband is currently in NY while I have to remain in CA due to my current H1B employment limitation.

I really appreciate if anyone could let me know when I can legally quit my current job to move to NY with my husband (without the need to get a new H1b sponsor). Do I need to wait until getting a new EAD?

Thank you so much for your help. This is my first time using the site. Your willingness to help others is awesome!

burbankuser said:
Hello,

I am currently on H1B visa and recently married to USC. I sent my GC applications to Chicago lock box a week ago (I-130, I-485, EAD application...). My husband is currently in NY while I have to remain in CA due to my current H1B employment limitation.

I really appreciate if anyone could let me know when I can legally quit my current job to move to NY with my husband (without the need to get a new H1b sponsor). Do I need to wait until getting a new EAD?

Thank you so much for your help. This is my first time using the site. Your willingness to help others is awesome!
After receiving a Receipt Notice for your GC application, you can quit anytime. But if you want start another job right after quiting this, you should wait till you get your EAD.

burbankuser said:
Hello,

What amishah says is correct. I had the same kind of case. H1B and my husband is a USC.I live in LA.
I found another job after I filed fo GC and quit my job 2 weeks ago, since I received my receipts.But upto now I could not start working at the new company. I just received my EAD and AP approval email yesterday late afternoon. I'm expecting a call from the HR at the new company.