GREEN CARD HELP - OUT OF COUNTRY FOR >12 MONTHS (DURING COVID-19 TIME)

helprequired

Good afternoon,
I am a doctor and British National working in the UK. In 2018, I was granted the 2 year exemption from entering the USA regularly to maintain the green card (issued in 2017) permanent status. Upon the completion of these two years, I had booked to visit America, however, due to the pandemic and the UK being in lockdown, our borders were closed to international travel. Following this, due to both of my parents being afflicted with poor health in April 2020 (mother was diagnosed with cancer and subsequently underwent surgery and chemotherapy over the course of the next 12-18 months; father was admitted to hospital in April 2020 and stayed there for 1 month and his recovery after discharge took 12+ months), I was unable to enter USA as: (1) I was their primary carer (2) due to them having a high risk of contracting COVID-19, I was shielding alongside them (only leaving house for work commitments. In addition to this, as an NHS doctor, it was deemed bad for us to travel abroad (only allowed for emergencies) as we had a national duty to help with the pandemic; as such, our annual leave to go abroad would be denied due to extreme staff shortages and the increased need for doctors nationally (as was seen in every country due to the pandemic).

Moreover, I am currently studying for the USMLE exams (hoping to start in summer 2023 as a doctor in USA). I have a US driving license too. I mention these as it hopefully shows intent of moving there long term.

I want to visit the US on my green card soon, however, upon contacting the US embassy in London, I was advised that the US borders were never 'closed' to American Passport holders/Green Card holders - something I was not aware of. They said that if I have stayed outside of the US for more than 12 months I will lose my LPR status.