GC expired 5 years ago...do I have a fighting chance to renew somehow?

Bev

Registered Users (C)
Hi there,

I am hoping that someone (hopefully TheRealCanadian can comment because he seems to know his stuff) will be able to provide me with comments, advice, opinion, etc on my situation:

I was issued a green card when I was 12 years old. The green card has expired for five years already. I am in my twenties. I would like to go to the States and I fully intend on living there and never leaving. Only problem is...I need to be given the right to stay permanently in the States. Is there any fighting chance that I would be able to renew my greencard? I am willing to do anything to do this! The only thing, how do I explain to immigration what I have been doing in the last 5 years since my greencard expired that would be able to convince them that I was a resident (even though I wasn't...but that was only because my parents took me out of the States and I didn't know I had a green card)? Another fact...I have never filed a tax return...which I think is bad too...but can I file them now (I would have to back track many years to when I was 18). I mean, can I tell immigration that I have always been living in the States and that I ran away from home and didn't know that my green card had an expiry date (and that is why I didn't renew it five years ago?)?

Oh lordie...

Thanks for any help you can give!