Experience of Canadian (Consular Processing)

cdn1000

Thought that I would share my recent experience of going through consular processing in Montreal. A lot of my comments are applicable only to Canadians (e.g. getting police certificate). Hope this info helps... it's not very organized but wanted to get it all down. I am not a lawyer and none of this should be considered legal advice. It is only my personal experience. If you're just starting on consular processing, I suggest you do a lot of research on the various documents required. My lawyers didn't seem to know much about it, causing a number of delays. As a result of the delays, I had to extend my H1B to cover the span of a couple weeks where I would have been out of status. Cost me $1000. Very frustrating. Anyhow, I am very relieved that I've finally got my green card, as my company has been through a series of layoffs. It has been a very stressful experience and I'm glad it's over!

=============================================
I-140: filed with consular processing option: April 2003, approved August 2003 (filed through Dallas)

Consular processing: Started September 2003, in early January 2004 received notice that an appointment at the US consulate in Montreal was scheduled for Feb 17th.

Green Card: Received "Welcome notice" two weeks later, received actual green card March 8 2004 (FAST!!!)

=Suggestions=================================
After the I-140 is approved, the time to getting to the interview stage should only be 4-5 months, as long as you have all the necessary documents ready. There are a few "must haves" that you need to have ready for consular processing: