Employment history (part-time contractor)

immiuser

Registered Users (C)
Last year I worked as a part-time contractor(1099) along with my regular job (W-2). How should I enter this information on N400?

Thanks

You don't have to enter that info. The work history is most likely to make sure you have been in the US for the majority of the time. So they don't give it much scrutiny.

In the spirit of full disclosure, I think you should mention it. It is really a non-issue.

I'd just add it in another line with overlapping dates. I'd also attach an explanation and add that you have paid taxes on your earnings. They'd most probably check your tax transcript more closely during the interview.

Working on 1099

I have been working on 1099 for a couple of years. and want to continue doing that through my citizenship application.
1. What should I put in my employment history
2. I will not have paystubs to carry in interviews? what can I take.
3. What kind of letter I should take with me from my agency?
4. Or is it advised to convert to W2 before filing citizenship application?

1. For 1099 contract work, put self-employment.
2. You must have some sort of tax returns including your 1099 income, right? And you made the payments for estimated tax and self-employment tax, right?
3. Not needed
4. No

Thanks for your reply!
Yes I do have tax returns and estimated tax payments that I have been making.
was just worried about the current year's income. Since My agency just wire transfers my payment.. and issues 1099 at year end -- no monthy invoice or payment reciept.

I hope that okay?

1. For 1099 contract work, put self-employment.
2. You must have some sort of tax returns including your 1099 income, right? And you made the payments for estimated tax and self-employment tax, right?
3. Not needed
4. No