EB1A, suggestions please!

MATH-EB1A

Registered Users (C)
Hi, folks,

I am preparing for EB1A application. I need your suggestions and advices.

Here are my credentials:

1 Full member of Sigma Xi (Some guys said that CIS does not accept Sigma Xi, but I want to claim it since my major is mathematics, only a few mathematicians are members of Sigma Xi (math & computer science---6%))

2 Member of AMS (Every math major can be a member of AMS, but I am also a reviewer for Mathematical Reviews. I was chosen due to publications)

3. 20 journal papers (17 first-authered) (You know, for math major, it is very difficult to publish papers)

4. 16 citations (I do not want to claim it) (indeed, most math papers has very low citation)

4. Review papers for 3 journals, 1 textbook, 2 proposals

5. 2 international conference talks

6. 6 reference letters (3 are independent)

7. Tenure track assistant professor in math

From this forum, I see that some guys get ref or denial. So is my case worth a shot for EB1A? (by the way, I want to DIY)

Thanks, buddys.

SInce you have tenure track position, I think you should apply through EB1 OR, instead of EB1EA.

SInce you have tenure track position, I think you should apply through EB1 OR, instead of EB1EA.

Thanks for your reply.

According to my university's schedule, my application should be initiated next year.

We do not know what will happen next year.

That's why i want to file EB1A without seeking sponsor from our university.

You can apply for EB1-EA without impacting your EB1-OR application in future. I applied for EB1 myself, and shortly afterwards, my employer applied for EB1-OR on my behalf. Both petitions were approved at about the same time in about a couple of months. I decided to apply for I-485 based on EB1-EA. So go ahead, and apply for EB1-EA. But do your homework first. Make sure that you submit a strong and well prepared application. Otherwise, you'll get RFE's.

As pkafir just wrote, you have to do your homework ;)