E2 help needed (interesting case)

LennJS

Registered Users (C)
I'm currently in the US legally on non-immigrant status. One of my father's companies is based in the US. Soon I'll be employed in a managerial position to oversee the investment(substantial, with new invesments expected soon leading to new employment on short term base) into this US based company. Nationality of the ownership of the US based company is the same as mine. Here comes the problem, I'm a resident in one of the islands belonging to the Dutch Antilles. Three of these islands (Aruba, Curacao, Bonaire) fall in the district of the US embassy in Caracas Venezuela. So if I were to apply for the E2 oustide of the US I would have to go to the embassy in Caracas. Venezuela is not a treaty country so E2 applications are extremely uncommon over there, would this be an advantage or disadvantage when applying for one? Now, I've been to caracas before and will try to avoid having to go there again at all cost. I know I can file for the E2 within the US, but would this be an even more difficult, lengthy process?
That was quite long, but any comments will be greatly appreciated.

I'm not sure what the current relationship is between the Dutch Antilles and the Netherlands, but I might suggest going to the US consulate in Amsterdam. That's where I got my E2 processed. Very friendly and professional people. You will need to make an appointment and take into account that your passport with stamp will be sent to an address where you are staying in the Netherlands (they used to give back the passport with stamp in the afternoon - not anymore as far as I know). BTW, my spouse has had the same type of issue since she is from a non-E2 treaty country. The US embassy personnel seemed very puzzled and had to check their manual to decide what to do. Though all went fine in the end and she got the stamp.