Driver's License extension - F1 to H-1B

sunnyrock75

Registered Users (C)
My driver's license expires on 8/20/06 (date of expiry on my I-20). And I have a pending H-1B petition applied by my employer with a start date of 10/1/06. I currently have a receipt notice for my H-1B petition and I would like to know if I can get my driver's license renewed with this receipt assuming my H-1B is not approved by 8/20/06. I am a resident of OHIO. Would appreciate if somebody can comment on this. Thanks!

Hi! There,
I am in a similar situation as you. My driver's license also will expire before I get H1 approval from USCIS. I contacted regional district office of USCIS for my state (PA), but they were of little help. Have you found some way out to extend the driver's license? Please let me know as soon as possible.

Thanks,
Manoj.

Driver's License

My driver's license expires on 8/20/06 (date of expiry on my I-20). And I have a pending H-1B petition applied by my employer with a start date of 10/1/06. I currently have a receipt notice for my H-1B petition and I would like to know if I can get my driver's license renewed with this receipt assuming my H-1B is not approved by 8/20/06. I am a resident of OHIO. Would appreciate if somebody can comment on this.

Hi,

For your Driver's license take you receipt notice to the DMV office of your state and they should be able to give you a license (temporary) valid for a period of upto 3 months from the date of your receipt notice or your driver's license expiry date (the discretion of taking either is according to each state DMV office). As an additional ID they may ask to see your passport

This is a general practice (individual states may have specific rules and you can check their websites for more information dmv.org and then check for thes state). I had my license secured in that manner in the state that I am currently working and later when I received the approval notice it was extended till the valid date of the approval notice