Do I need to worry?

I was working in US with H1b.
Now working with EAD.
I 485 pending.
Fingerprinting done.

My I 94 is the one with which I entered USA in 1996 when I Was a student.
I left and entered couple of times later without any Visa or I-94, since by that time, I became a canadian permanent resident, and the immigration official did not give me a I 94 card or any stamping on my passport. On both ocassions I was out of the country(USA) for 30 days or so, perhaps that was the reason , I don't know.
So I still have I -94 from my student days 1996, even though I travelled back and forth USA after that.

Should I worry about anything when I go for special registration? Or am I ok? I never was out of status even for a single day.
What exactly do they look for anyway when we go for special registration?

Thanks. Any comments/suggestions will be much appreciated. ( I am worried that's for sure)

i don't know if this helps...

i guess the bottom line is, you have to register, regardless... because by not registering, you ipso facto become out of status, according to the INS notification.

you said you are still carrying the I-94 that you entered on as a student in 1996. but since you are working on an H1B, didn't the approval notice (I-797 Notice of Action for I-129 Approval) have a new I-94 at the bottom of the form? how come you are still carrying your original I-94?

about your trips to canada, two different sets of laws apply: with a valid I-94, you could travel to canada, mexico and some caribbean islands and back within 30 days even on a expired u.s. visa UNLESS YOU TRAVELLED TO SOME THIRD COUNTRY OUT OF CANADA/MEXICO, regardless of whether you were a canadian PR or not. on the other hand, canadian PRs did not need a visa, nor were issued I-94s, at entry to the u.s. either way, your canadian trips should be o.k.