Change of student status from F1 to F2

drnishu

Registered Users (C)
Hello everybody,

I am doing my master's in Biology and my wife doing her MBA. We both r in the same university. We both came here together. This is our first semester. I want to change my student status from F1 to F2 dependent. My wife will persue her studies as primary F1 student. I have following questions to ask........
1) is it possible to change my status from F1 to F2????What are the chances of rejection?
2) How long it will take to change my status to F2? I don't want to persue my second semester that begins around 15th of January 2006.
3) do i need to explain the USCIS why I need to change my status?
4) Should I contact the office of ISS? Do they really cooperate in this issue as they are loosing its student and fees!!!!!!! :confused:
5) Should I contact any profesional lawyer for this matter????
6) Do I need to fill the form I-134 as affidavit of support? is it really necessary? I don't have any relative in the USA.
7) Who should provide me proof of finanacial support? I mean my parents of my wife's parents????
8) Can I go to my mother country on F2?

1) is it possible to change my status from F1 to F2????What are the chances of rejection?
yes, and "like everybody else's"
2) How long it will take to change my status to F2? I don't want to persue my second semester that begins around 15th of January 2006.

several months, but as soon as you apply, you will still be in legal status.

3) do i need to explain the USCIS why I need to change my status?
yes
4) Should I contact the office of ISS? Do they really cooperate in this issue as they are loosing its student and fees!!!!!!!

they should help.

5) Should I contact any profesional lawyer for this matter????
it's not necessary.

6) Do I need to fill the form I-134 as affidavit of support? is it really necessary? I don't have any relative in the USA.