change of status from H4 to F1 approved in middle of semester

vssequeira

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

I was on H4 during the fall semester 2005. I filed for COS (change of status) in Sept 2005 and it was approved in Oct 2005.

Since I was on H4 when the semester began, I was enrolled only for 6 credits (MS student) which is part-time.....9 credits is full time

The following semester and thereafter, I've been a full-time student and haven't violated any rules.

Will that 1 semester affect my OPT ??

~VS

No.

But you must have sufficient credit and duration to qualify for OPT.

vssequeira said:
Hi,

I was on H4 during the fall semester 2005. I filed for COS (change of status) in Sept 2005 and it was approved in Oct 2005.

Since I was on H4 when the semester began, I was enrolled only for 6 credits (MS student) which is part-time.....9 credits is full time

The following semester and thereafter, I've been a full-time student and haven't violated any rules.

Will that 1 semester affect my OPT ??

~VS

Hi greatGuru,

Thanks for replying. Yes, I have been in school as a full-time student from Jan '06 till date. I graduate in Dec '06, which gives me 1 full academic year on F1. I am in good standing as per university records. I also have a GPA of 3.8 (not that it should matter).

So, mu guess is that if that 1 semester doesn't affect, then I am fine.

Have there been other cases like mine before that you know of??? I've tried googling, but haven't seen anything yet.

Thanks
VS

Please verify the duration with your internation student office, after getting your F1 status, how many months required to be F1 status to eligible for an OPT.

You may be completing more courses while you are in H4 or F2 , but time clock starts for OPT, only after receiving your F1, how many credit did you get it and how long you are in school. Be careful.
------------------------------------------

vssequeira said:
Hi greatGuru,