Any experience entering India with OCI sticker on old passport when under 19?

PrasadIyer

Registered Users (C)
Hi all,
I noticed too late that my 18-year old daughter may need a fresh OCI sticker on her recently issued new US passport. I have just one month before leaving for India. I am thinking of two options, namely, apply for a visitor visa for her (can get it relatively quickly), or just take a chance and go to India carrying new passport, OCI card and OCI stamp on expired passport.

Has anyone else been in this situation? Did anyone attempt the second option and what was the experience at the port of entry?

Thanks a lot,
Prasad

I have no experience of the same stated, but I was told that you have to carry the OCI card and the old passport with Uvisa and new passport. or you can apply for a transfer of the U visa to the new passport -but may take some time.

No experience but this is what I would do if I was in your shoes: Take her old US passport with U-sticker and old OCI booklet along. If they question why you have not transferred everything to the new passport, just say you intend to do it once you get back from India and had no time to do it before the trip. The OCI status is lifelong and should not be affected just because your daughter got a new passport.

Hi all,
I noticed too late that my 18-year old daughter may need a fresh OCI sticker on her recently issued new US passport. I have just one month before leaving for India. I am thinking of two options, namely, apply for a visitor visa for her (can get it relatively quickly), or just take a chance and go to India carrying new passport, OCI card and OCI stamp on expired passport.

Has anyone else been in this situation? Did anyone attempt the second option and what was the experience at the port of entry?

Thanks a lot,
Prasad

Should not have any problem . As long as she has her old passport with OCI sticker. My son (16 ) Had no problems .

Any recent travelers to India with OCI in expired passport?