after EAD?? need some advice

rekha56

Registered Users (C)
i am a Programmer Analyst in the US on a H1B since 2003.
My company is ready to file my labor and assist me for my Green Card from Maine/Boston.

I have a problem and need advice:
I have to return to India due to family reasons (cannot explain in detail, but for the present i have to go back, but i do want to return to the US,afterall one does not get such opportunities many times, especially with a good employer)
I plan on waiting till the labor approval; file adjustment of status and receive EAD.This should (if i am not wrong ) take 8 months from Maine / Boston.

A friend informed that after having received the EAD,I could apply for advance parole, go to India; complete the remaining formalities, and collect the Green card in India itself. is this possible?

If it is,then I would appreciate someone walking me through the stages starting from filing the labor certification and explaining the procedures, and timelines for each stage.

thanks
rekha :(

well, it is not so easy as it sounds. Labor approval can take 2-3 years and then you can apply for EAD. An EAD will be needed only if you are working part time or changing employers, if you are not, which, in your case, you say not, you do not need an AP. You company can file for your GC and you wait 3-4 years or however long it takes and then collect your GC. But, you do this only if you plan to come back, if you do not intend to come back to US, why do you need a GC? Remember that once you have your GC, to maintain it, you need to visit US.

Timelines can vary from 3-4 years, it will not be 8 months fr sure, unless you are very lucky or your company has pre-approved labor and you piggy back on that approval.

Thanks but still very confused

Thankyou very much for the reply. But I still have a few questions:
Before starting let me make it clear that i want to come back to the US.

now the confusion: