Advice on how to get H1 while on H4 in US

imqwer

Registered Users (C)
Dear Doctors,
I am writing this on behalf of my wife who is a doctor with USMLE 1, 2 (ck+cs). She is currently on H4 for 2 1/2 years. She wants to get some sort of job (either residency or research job) on H1. J1 visa is no option for us.
I am an IT professional and know nothing about medical job prospects. So, please help us in these questions.

1. Can she get an H1B with USMLE 1 and 2? I heard step 3 is also required.

2. Where should we look for job listings for doctors - residency or research jobs where the employers are normally willing to offer H1?

3. I heard that it is easier to get research jobs form universities on H1? True or false? If true, how and where to look for these jobs?

As I wrote earlier and is clearly evident from my questions too, I do not know much on this subject, so please take some time and help us understand the process and the job market.
I would highly appreciate your kind response.

Let me take a stab at some of the questions you have.

imqwer said:
Dear Doctors,

1. Can she get an H1B with USMLE 1 and 2? I heard step 3 is also required.

-> Yes, if she wants to do residency on H1

2. Where should we look for job listings for doctors - residency or research jobs where the employers are normally willing to offer H1?

For residency, start with http://www.nrmp.org/

Who would offer H1, it is hard to say. You have to select programs and ask for it. I have heard that programs in demand don't offer H1's but I have seen exceptions to this. So, you have to try and see. If they want you, they would be flexible.

For research, there is no data base like residency.

3. I heard that it is easier to get research jobs form universities on H1? True or false? If true, how and where to look for these jobs?

Yes, and also Universities would be exempt from H1 quota's.

Having some research done would definitely help securing residency.

Good luck....