AC21 - 180 days rule job change - suggestion/advice please

venba

Hi Folks,
I am a consultant in the I485 stage (RD/PD 21aug01). My client is closing shop by end of this month and my consulting company said that they would not pay me/ or let me go if I do not get another assignment by next month.
Currently I got an excellent offer from a very reputed fortune 1000 company.
But the issue is they are not willing to do a contract to hire as the company policy warrants them to go to only specific vendors for contract. So they are asking me to use the AC21 180 days rule to work fulltime with them. They have given me end of next week to decide on the offer.
But the issue is I have not applied for my EAD (as I have a valid H1 till 2004). In fact my consulting company recommended me not to at the time of I485 application.
I am not sure if I can work for the new company without a EAD or a H1 even though my I485 has crossed 180 days in Feb 02.
Any suggestions/advice ?

thanks

You should need an EAD or H1-B

You should need an EAD to join another company or have that company sponsor H1-B visa. u can do premium processing and start working immediately as soon as you apply for the visa. But you need to wait for EAD if you decide to apply for EAD.

U may also want to check you local INS to get EAD. If they accept, it is one day job. Good Luck.

EAD in one day

Hi,

I am in a similar situation. It has been 180 dayssince my RD(Oct30 2001) but I dont have EAD. Can you tell me how to get an EAD in one day?

Jay

Some local INS centers will give EAD based on I-485 receipt notice.

I know Boston local INS office does this, I don\'t know about other local INS centers. Now a days EAD is taking less than 60 days.

Apply for a EAD at the Service Center