10 year bar is over - can i re-enter USA?

Brewster000

Hi, so I had a 10 year ban from the US when I was 21 for multiple arrests. Mostly drug paraphernalia. I was a permanent resident at the time. I got arrested went to immigration court and got deported back to Canada. I lived in the US since I was about 8 years old legally.

My 10 year ban is up and would like to go visit my parents and siblings. Do I need a waiver or can I just drive to canada border with all my paper work (job letter, property taxes, home ownership) and try to get through.

Yes I was born in Canada. Moved to USA when I was 8. Deported to canada at 21. Now my 10 year ban is over.

I am trying to get back into USA. If there is any confusion.

If your ban is over, you do not need a waiver (there is nothing to waive). You can just seek entry to the US on your Canadian passport. (Of course, that doesn't mean they will necessarily let you in.)

In addition to the 10-year ban for being removed, it is possible that you might also have the lifetime ban for multiple criminal convictions and/or the lifetime ban for controlled substance violations. If you have either of these bans, your bans would not be over, and if you want to visit you would have to apply for a nonimmigrant waiver with I-192.

If your ban is over, you do not need a waiver (there is nothing to waive). You can just seek entry to the US on your Canadian passport. (Of course, that doesn't mean they will necessarily let you in.)

In addition to the 10-year ban for being removed, it is possible that you might also have the lifetime ban for multiple criminal convictions and/or the lifetime ban for controlled substance violations. If you have either of these bans, your bans would not be over, and if you want to visit you would have to apply for a nonimmigrant waiver with I-192.

Well I have the paperwork when I went to court. All I signed was for a 10 year ban. Not a lifetime ban.