Consular processing vs AOS for family in Canada

Falaj23

Hi all,
This is my first time posting. I have read numerous posts in the last week as I am in the process of embarking on the TN journey to the USA. I have the following questions pertaining to my situation.

My employer, has offered me position and would like me to join within the next month on a TN status with the written reassurance that in 3-4 months they will begin processing the GC ( i.e PERM to I-140). Myself and family are all Canadian citizens.
My teen daughters are going to school in Canada and my wife has full-time employment in Canada. The location of the position is in a small town with few resources including good public school options and under a TD visa my wife will not be able to work in the US. Therefore, my family is planning to stay back in Canada and not obtain a TD status.

Assuming my I-140 is approved, I can apply for AOS + EAD + AP for myself.

What are the available options for them to apply for the GC as "derivatives" ?

It makes little sense for my wife to resign from her position in Canada and be in the US waiting for EAD. It seems counselor processing is the way to go, but does this mean they will wait a decade before they are granted an appointment at the consulate or embassy ? I am not clear how this process will work where I will file AOS while my family remains outside of US. What are the pros and cons of this ?

Thank you in advance.

If you, the principal beneficiary, do AOS, and the derivative beneficiaries do CP, how it works is that you would file I-824, either with your I-485, or after your I-485 is approved, which tells USCIS that, once your AOS is approved (and you get your green card), to send your petition to NVC for your derivative beneficiaries to do CP. So basically, their CP process can only start after you get your green card.