• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

Request For Less Than Full-Time Enrollment and DV2015

spins008

Hello, I am going to take my last semester at university and I am planning to take only 1-2 courses which is enough to complete my program. But since I am an international student I have to take at least 3 courses for full-time enrollment. I can file the Request for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment to take only 1 or 2 courses but recently I have applied for Adjustment of Status through the DV2015 and I am curious if my Less than full-time employment can affect Adjustment of Status process.

Thank you!

Hello, I am going to take my last semester at university and I am planning to take only 1-2 courses which is enough to complete my program. But since I am an international student I have to take at least 3 courses for full-time enrollment. I can file the Request for Less Than Full-Time Enrollment to take only 1 or 2 courses but recently I have applied for Adjustment of Status through the DV2015 and I am curious if my Less than full-time employment can affect Adjustment of Status process.

Thank you!
Presumably your key objective is to maintain your F-1/J-1 NIV status until your AOS application has been granted and status officially changed to IV? If so, minimum course load is 9 credits/semester if you are a graduate student, 12 credits/semester if you are an undergraduate. If your university would report in SEVIS less than minimum course loads, you would be out of status and obligated to leave the US. Hope this information is of help. Good luck!

Thank you!

I second @EURO2014's response, that wouldn't be a wise move. You stand a better chance of having your AOS application approved by maintaining a full time status at the time of your interview.