• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

medical school interuniversity transfer

nyanch1

Hi, am a DV 2015 selectee and my interview isscheduled at the end of this month. I am a final year medical student at a Kenyan university and the green card time span won't allow me to finish my studies. Is there a way I can apply for interuniversity transfer or I justhave to go to the US and then come back tofinish?

You may have enough time if you are in your final year.

You have six months to activate the visa from the time of your medical. And then you have a year after activation to make the final move. So just under 18 months to finish off and then make the move.

You're better off finishing your final year in Kenya. When your visa is issued, visit the U.S. to activate your LPR status before the visa expires (all things being equal, the visa is typically valid for 6 months). Then go back home to finish your studies before making the final move. You should be okay to stay back for up to one year following the initial activation without running into the risk of being deemed to have abandoned your LPR status. However, if you will need to stay back for more than one year, then you need to make sure you apply for a re-entry permit before departing from the U.S. during your activation (first) trip to the U.S.

You may have enough time if you are in your final year.

You have six months to activate the visa from the time of your medical. And then you have a year after activation to make the final move. So just under 18 months to finish off and then make the move.

How does one activate the visa?

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks that was helpful. And once in the US, will I be allowed to practise as a doctor having trained in kenya?