• Hello Members, This forums is for DV lottery visas only. For other immigration related questions, please go to our forums home page, find the related forum and post it there.

Level of education

pawn54

Hello there.

I'm from Russia. I applied for the lottery. I have a question about the level of education. In Russia I can get 2 diplomas in school, the first diploma in grade 9, the second diploma in grade 11 (a total of 11 grades). I got my first diploma, but didn't get my second because I just got tired of that ******* school (I had 1 month of study left) (for those who are wondering how this works in Russia, I'll tell you below).

And so, the questions.

1. Can a 9th grade diploma be considered a "high school diploma"? Is it left to the opinion of the immigration officer during the interview?
2. If the answer to the first point is "no," then there is another question. I would love to finish 11th grade to get a "second diploma," but there's a problem. At the moment schools in Russia have turned into institutions where you have to kiss a portrait of putin, go to classes where they tell you that America is a fascist state, which we need to destroy, etc (this is not a joke, you can look it up on YT). I have never supported this, and in fact this is one of the reasons why I want to leave Russia. So I do not want to go to school to get this "paper". If, in "theory," I tell this in an interview as a reason for not having a "high school diploma," can I be approved? Because it's very weird that the U.S. requires me to get a diploma from an institution that teaches me that we have to destroy the U.S.

Off-top.