I-140 RFE and Educational Evaluation

obsoza

Registered Users (C)
Hey Guys,

Got an RFE saying that I dont have the min education as mentioned on the AEC.

AEC requires:

BS in CS/CE/EE or RELATED Degree.

I have:

1) BSc (3 years)
2) 1 year course work in CS from US University as a prerequisite for Masters
3) MBA from US

Total years of education 12+3+1+2 = 18 years

INS sent back RFE saying I dont have the degree in the mentioned field as specified on the AEC.

This is what we replied back with:

1) 2 Evals from two different sources saying that I have a equivalent to a BS in CIS based (BSc 3 years and 1 year US course work)

2) Letters from University Professors saying that a degree in CIS is related to CS so my degree is clearly related, thus I qualify.

My Questions:
1) Will the INS accept our evals or they don't accept evals which combine education.
2) Is the response appropiate enough to get an approval?

Thx.

Hello,

Did u get credit for your prerequiste courses in MS ? If not , then it should be problem. This is my understanding. U wrote that u had Bsc but in what? did u have BSc in CE or CS?

It sounds as if you will be ok but it is very difficult to say much for sure without actually seeing the documents. Sometimes people miss critical issues.

Thanks Jim.

I was concerned if INS accepts evals (3 year degree and 1 year course work) equivalent to a BS degree in the US? Have had cases where the INS has accepted this for GC purposes?

Thanks.

Hi chijan,

Its is just a BSc..not in any specific field. The one year course work in the US (around 24 unit hours) was all CS courses.