F1 student, husband lied about sponsoring me and now jeopardized my status

kaylee

Registered Users (C)
I met my husband when I was a student. He is a LPR and we got married in 2008 while I was still under F1 status. He told me he would file for citizenship and adjust my status as I had one year under my Optional Practical Training (OPT). I wrote him a check for the amount of filing the papers in July 2008. I just found out that my husband never filed while he told me the whole time that he did file. My OPT expired in June 2009 and at the time He told me I would be getting my papers soon so I did not think too much of it. Now, I realize it was all a lie while ITs too late coz Im out of status and I was pregnant and have a child while all of this was going on. My baby is just 3 months old now . Im out of status since June 2009. I wouldn't have stayed in the US had I known he did not file the papers. Also, we are still married and hes telling me i have to wait till June which is when he will get his citizenship. He wants me to be under his control till then. Hes been lying for about 2 years now and Im in this state because of him. Do I have any recourse to become legal? Please help! Thank you

With him not being a US citizen, even if he filed your immigration papers in 2008 you still would not gain/extend any legal status in the US. So you have to wait until he becomes a citizen before filing the papers will give you any legal status.