EB3 to EB2 risks

ramesur

Registered Users (C)
LC Filed on 7/18/02 (EB3)
LC Approved on 4/7/06
Place of Birth : Dubai, Nationality (INDIAN)
EB3 under WorldWide quota is having it's PD 5/01
Lawyer recommends waiting a month to see any improvement in dates before filing I-140.
Else, wants to convert me from EB3 to EB2 and do concurrent filing as EB2 is current in WorldWide quota.

My question is - Are there any risks in doing EB3 to EB2 ? What happens to my PD of 4/7/06 if I-140 is filed under EB2. I do have the necessary experience and can provide 5 yrs experience letters.

Please advise if I should try that route or be safe with filing I-140 now and waiting until dates become current before filing I-485.

I'm new to this and will appreciate your response

Thanks

i did the same thing and got an RFE...it all depends on the position that you advertised for....not on your qualifications...but do u got to lose...try EB-2, get a RFE and get it amended to EB-3

ramesur said:
LC Filed on 7/18/02 (EB3)
LC Approved on 4/7/06
Place of Birth : Dubai, Nationality (INDIAN)
EB3 under WorldWide quota is having it's PD 5/01
Lawyer recommends waiting a month to see any improvement in dates before filing I-140.
Else, wants to convert me from EB3 to EB2 and do concurrent filing as EB2 is current in WorldWide quota.

My question is - Are there any risks in doing EB3 to EB2 ? What happens to my PD of 4/7/06 if I-140 is filed under EB2. I do have the necessary experience and can provide 5 yrs experience letters.

Please advise if I should try that route or be safe with filing I-140 now and waiting until dates become current before filing I-485.

I'm new to this and will appreciate your response

Thanks
If you try that way, DO NOT USE YOUR EAD (if you plan to apply one). By the time you use the EAD, H1B will be invalid. By the time, you receive RFE and convert to EB3. Your I485 is invalid and also your EAD -> you will become illegal.

kae_jolie said: