Why EB-3 why not EB-2 .please explain

New_yo_gc

Registered Users (C)
I have completed my bachelors in December 1999. I got job in 2000 Jan . I worked 5 years in one of the companies .During my work , I did my executive Master in year 2002. I came to USA in late 2005. I worked in 2 different companies till December 2005. At the end of December I joined my current company , I am still working here . Also my designation got changed to senior programmer/analyst in April-2006.

Now here is confusion , my company filed my LC as EB-3 category not EB-2 but as per my knowledge “PERM” looks for qualification of US Masters Degree or a “Bachelors with 5 years of progressive experience, it can be filed under EB2”, otherwise EB3” right ?

Please explain .
Thanks,

It is the requirement of the job that determines the EB category for your LC. For instance my job requires bachelor plus 4 years of experience and so my employers filed in EB-3 even though I have over 15 years of experience before coming to the USA and six years of experience before coming here!

Thx

Thanks for your reply! I also asked the same question to my paralegal and he replied "Our internal education evaluator is confuse and not sure about your MS degree, So it is safe bet to apply under Eb-3 category " .

I am contacting my college back home to provide me MS certificate with HEC ( High education commission ) stamp . If I am not forgetting, we can also upgrade the category to EB-2 in GC process.. Not sure when we can do it. After I140?

Thx

Thanks for your reply! I also asked the same question to my paralegal and he replied "Our internal education evaluator is confuse and not sure about your MS degree, So it is safe bet to apply under Eb-3 category " .

I am contacting my college back home to provide me MS certificate with HEC ( High education commission ) stamp . If I am not forgetting, we can also upgrade the category to EB-2 in GC process.. Not sure when we can do it. After I140?

Thx