Visotors visa

whitetrash

I have been hearing that inspite of getting a 10 year visa, the immigration officials on entry to US stamp 20days etc on the I-94. Would like to know if anyone has gone thru such an experience or it is just a rumour. Thanks.

visa experation

I heard that there is a new law for people with visitors visas, that if they do not start paperwork or get married before their visa runs out, than they can not intent to stay in the u.s or they will be deported when they try to. I heard that this was passed today, i need to know if this is true.

Client needs help

I am a real estate broker whose client is here on a work visa. He wants to purchase a property in Massachusetts; however, he was told that if he should loose his job, that he would have only ten days to find a new position. If that could not be accomplished then he would have to leave the country and go back to India. He wants to buy but understandably he is very concerned. Any help would be much appreciated.

Joe

No Title

It is true but there is no law that stops him from buying property. Also, even if he finds job after 10 days or 3 months, to be in legal status he has to leave the country and return. Depends on how badly he wants to settle in this country. He should have known these rules before looking for real estate.
I wouldn\'t buy unless I am confident about my earnings/reselling of the house etc.

US likely to impose 30-day stay limit

By Our Staff Correspondent

WASHINGTON, March 20: The Immigration and Naturalization Service (INS) is considering imposing a 30-day stay limit for foreign visitors to the United States. The present practice is to routinely grant six-month visas for visitors.

According to The Washington Post, State Department records show that almost seven million people come to the US each year on various categories of visas.