Travel to Syria will affect citizenship process?

dgtal

Registered Users (C)
I'm a Permanent Resident in the US and I'm ready to submit my US Citizenship application. Working in aviation I have been contracted to install an avionics equipment in Damascus, Syria. I have hear that Syria is listed as a terrorist country. A friend working in same field told me I may have trouble reentering US. I will be out for 1 week. The port of entry will be here in Miami, Florida . I need help from somebody. Thanks

Hmmm, Syria's up there on "the list" with Cuba and North Korea now: http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/info/info_1300.html :
Section 306 of the Enhanced Border Security and Visa Reform Act of 2002 (EBSVRA) pertains to the issuance of visas to aliens from state sponsors of terrorism.

Six countries are now designated as Section 306. They are North Korea, Cuba, Syria, Sudan, Iran and Libya.

I don't know how that would affect things. Is the company you are working with a US company? What do they say about US Citizens traveling there? In general, the restrictions you face would be the same as those restrictions that a US Citizen would face (I think, and I'm not a lawyer).

Good luck

FLYDOG thank you for your reply. Yes my company is a US corporation, I will read that link you sent. I have bad feelings....I requested the aircraft to be placed in Dubai, I hope they can fly over there.

Section 306 refers to people who immigrates from there. I'm from Venezuela.
Thank you

Right, sect 306 is for people coming *from* there, not visiting there. But, making a list that includes N. Korea and Cuba is not good.

That said, I can't imagine going to work for a US company beside US citizens can reflect badly on your "moral character".

I don't think there is any embargo against Syria (like there is against N Korea)