Supporting proof for breaking Continuous Residence

eyarlaga

Background:
I work in the IT sector. My wife is a home-maker. We applied for citizenship and my interview is on 9/25 and her's on 10/10. We have been Permanent Residents since 4/2000.

Last year I took my sabbatical and followed it up with a 3 month temporary assignment from my company at our branch in India. In total I spent little less than 6months (147 days) in India and returned to my job at my primary site in US. Though my wife accompanied me she didn't return with me at the same time. She spent a totoal of 212 days (obviously >6months) since her mom was ill and had to be take care of. We have never had extended trips such as these.

We do not have any medical bills tied to he hospital visits last year. In addition, I am skeptical that the immigration officer even gives any credence to such documents.

We have filed a copy of the last 5yrs of tax returns along with her application. We continue to stay in our house which we bought in 12/01.

My questions:
a) How critical is it that she stayed 32days past the 180 day limit?
b) What can take in addition to the tax documents to demonstrate that this was an exception and we had no intent to abandon residence in US?

Please send any other feedback that will help with her upcoming interview.

Thanks.

You should not have any continuous-residence problems with your application since your trip was under the magic 180 day window. The same may not be true for your wife, and the burden of proof rests with her to demonstrate she did not break continuous residency.

The good news is you can show she had family (you) residing in the US while she was abroad, and also you had a house and thus rental agreement or mortgage statements for supporting docs.

Show that your intention was not to break continous residence rules and back it up with evidence.