Same old job change question

MA_Labor

Registered Users (C)
I finally got my GC last month. Apart from the anxiety this long process has generated, most of us haven't seen much career growth during this entire period due to "same/similar job" restrictions. Although AC21 helped in changing jobs, but anything that deviated too far from the same/similar job interpretation was a sure no no.

Now I'm itching to change my job in order to set my career back on the growth/ development track. I have over 10 years of IT experience, plus an MS and MBA from very good US Universities, yet my recent jobs have been more in line with "Tech Lead" or "Software Architect" type roles. I have used AC21 twice but only sent AC21 docs to USCIS on the latter occasion.

So what happens now if I take up a position of "Director of Software Development" with a small size company? The position entails managing a team of about 25 software developers. Do any of you see a problem if I switch to this job … lets say 2 months after my GC approval? Since I've already used AC21 do I really need to stay with the current company in order to show good intent?

It will be a risk to leave the job within just 2 months after getting the GC. However, the position you describe sounds like it could be enough of a big opportunity to be worth the risk.

Key factors to consider are:
- After filing the I-485, how long did you work for the original sponsoring employer (the longer the time, the more proof of "intent" to work for them)
- Before getting the green card, how long did you work for the employer you had at the time of getting the green card (similarly, the longer the time is the more proof of "intent")
- Will your current employer complain to USCIS (probably not, because they didn't spend any big money on sponsorship)? Assuming that they don't complain, your potential problem is at citizenship time.