Re-post:Q about EAD AND SSN#

SimFox3

Registered Users (C)
Hi guys, I'm a student who has been desperately wanting to drive here in California.

On September 17, 02 our lawyers sent Los Angeles Center our I-485 and EAD paperwork. All of my family's FP were taken last month. There was a screw up for my FP but I took them a 2 weeks ago also. First question: Because my FP are two week behind, will this affect my EAD approval time. In other words is the EAD have any relationship with fingerprints?

Second Question: Is there an interview for EAD approval?

My biggest question is, what is the fastest way for me to obtain a Driver License.. I just turned 18 (happy birthday me ) ... Anyway I'd like to give myself a birthday present.. a driver license would do just fine. I read something about court overturning the decision not to issue SSN because of request of driver license. It states that you have to be legal, but we are not technically "legal" yet are we?

Thanks in advance.

Hello,

i don't think FP will affect EAD process. they are 2 different processes.

this is one way to get ssn - get ead and then go to local ins and apply for ssn. once you've ssn, apply for driver license.

check this link posted by admin.

http://www.immigration.com/litigation/ssa/ourcomments.html

-- Caltiger

If you just want a driver license in California, you need neither EAD nor SS#.

At first, you can go to the DMV office to apply your DL.
Then, go to the SSA office with a DMV receipt, and apply SSA-3288.
SSA will send SSA-3288, that shows you don't have your SS#, directly to DMV.

Good Luck.

Originally posted by kashmir
If you just want a driver license in California, you need neither EAD nor SS#.

At first, you can go to the DMV office to apply your DL.
Then, go to the SSA office with a DMV receipt, and apply SSA-3288.
SSA will send SSA-3288, that shows you don't have your SS#, directly to DMV.

Good Luck.