Questions on N-600 - "derive" citizenship from U.S. citizen parent

Story_questions

Hi - It is my first time posting a question on forums. It seems everyone is so helpful. Hopefully someone can help me! :)

I am trying to apply for US citizenship using form N-400. While i was going through the process, it says I "might" already be a US citizen because my mother is a US citizen and told me to check out the form N-600 instead. However I am not sure since when my mom became a US Citizen, I was not a permanent resident in USA.

So my story is that my mom became a US citizen in 2006, by that time I was only 17. However, I did not immigrant to US with her at the same time since I was in a school. I moved here at age of 20 and received my green card right way.

I read a article talks about the "derive" citizenship from U.S. citizen parent if you were 18 years old or younger on or after February 27, 2001. I was born in 1989, so I am definitely younger on or after Feb 27, 2001.

Now I am just confused to the following:
  • Am I already a US citizen through my US citizen mother?
  • Or am I not qualify through the derive citizenship because I was not a permanent resident at age of 18 or younger and should use form N-400?

Thank you in advance for you input and help.

N400 is the correct form for you. All it was doing was telling you to confirm needing to naturalize because having a USC parent implies you might - as it said, might - have derived citizenship already. From the way you explained it, you did not (you were not a LPR in the physical and legal custody of your USC parent before age 18), and so you do need to naturalize on your own via form N400.