Questions on I-485 application

littlepig

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

I have several questions on my green card application.

My employer had sponsored me to get the labor certificate. My I-140 was filed on 08/05/2002 by company lawyer and is under process now.

According to the current regulation, I-485 can be filed with I-140 in parallel. But company doesn't want to begin my I-485 process because of salary issue. When the company lawyer started my green card application in 03/2001, I was a entry level engineer with salary 65K. He thought I could become a senior software engineer when i-485 is approved, so he filed me as a senior engineer which requires salary with 80K by INS. Now I am promoted to senior engineer, but the salary was halted because of difficult finanical situation. I know it will be OK as long as my salary increases to 80K when i-485 is approved, but this is unrealistic under such economy. So the employer doesn't agree to continue the green card process.

So I heard that I can file the I-485 with my own lawyer. A few questions about this:

1. Can I file the I-485 with my own lawyer?
2. One or two years later, if INS asks me to show the w-2 form, but my w-2 form shows my salary is not 80K. What will happen? Will they refuse me? Do I need to start over?
3. If my company find out that I file the I-485 with my own lawyer, what will happen? Will they tell INS?

You definetely need to talk to a lawyer, but I'm afraid the lawyer assigned to your company did have a point. I understand your intention of filing I-485 which would give you a legal status and time so that by the time BCIS gets to it, you salary level will be as filed.