Question on 150 day pending period before being eligible for a temporary EAD.

hellofromku

Registered Users (C)
Hi, all!

First of all, thank you so much for your priceless advice on the problems that I have encountered during my application for Asylum. I am currently an F1- international student graduating in December with my second Master's in Science, and have had two very successful job interviews in the past two weeks. Both seem to have leaned towards my working for them as soon as possible. I therefore hope that you wouldnot mind my asking a couple of questions on the eligibility for a temporary EAD when the asylum is pending:

1) About the word "pending", does it mean any time before I receive the final decision on my asylum application? I am asking this because I received a notice of intent to deny in late August and sent my rebuttal letter in early September, but have yet to receive a final decision letter on my case. Does the receipt of the intent to deny automatically "close" the pending period or my case indeed is still pending because a final decision has not been reached yet?

2) There is a ten day period between my receipt of the notice of intent to deny and the Asylum office's receipt of my rebuttal. Should these ten days be counted into the pending time or not?

Here is my application timeline, just in case that you would need it for accurate assessment.

April 23rd, Complete application receipt confirmation from USCIS,

First interview scheduled for May 15th, but have had to reschedule due to extraordinary circumstances

July 10th, Asylum interview completed at Los Angeles Office

August 27th, Notice of intent to deny sent out to me.

Sept 6th, USPS Confirmation of Asylum rebuttal receipt by Los Angeles Office.