Question before applying for N400

alphagc

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

I got my GC three years ago through EMPLOYMENT but I have been married to a US citizen for the past 5 years. Is it possible to apply for US citizenship based on the 3 years criteria?

Your response is highly appreciated

alphagc,

It is the process how obtained your Green Card (Employment based or Marriage based) that defines the process of Naturalization. Your marriage to a US Citizen is a life changing event for sure but it did not affect your Permanent Resident Status.

Since GC petition was approved based on Employment requirements, hence 5 year eligibility requirements will apply for you. I know, 3 years would have been ideal, but that is not how USCIS will look at it.

Koolvik7:

Are you sure? That would surprise me very much (I'm not an expert here - this rule had no bearing on my application).

Alphagc:

Download the "Guide to Naturalization". If I remember correctly, the "kind" of green card you have has nothing to do with your eligibility for the 3-year by-marriage rule. In any case, the rules are pretty clear in the guide.

OK, I looked it up. Here is the rule (from the guide):

If you are at least 18 years old and:
Are currently married to and living with a U.S. citizen;
and
Have been married to and living with that same U.S.
citizen for the past 3 years;
and
Your spouse has been a U.S. citizen for the past 3 years.

(from the Guide, pages 18-19 - no mention of how you got your green card).

Good luck.

The N-400 states a lawful Permenant Resident of 5 years OR a lawful Permenant Resident or 3 years AND married and living with a USC for those 3 years.

So since you've been married for 5 years (why didn't you just get your GC through marriage from the start?) to a USC you should have been able to apply for citizenship 2 years ago.

So yes you should be able to do that right now...