Permanent Residency and Adoption

Verma03-027

Registered Users (C)
I'm a recent permanent resident and a month before approval I adopted a 7-yr old child. I found out that I can't bring her here easily. If I understand correctly, I can't bring her here and apply for her permanent residencey as the child has not lived with us for two years. :eek: Now the question is how do I satisfy this two year condition? One way I can bring the child here is to wait for five yrs, get citizenship and then bring the child here. But this is not a solution that I'mlooking for.

Another way I thought is to get the child on tourist Visa for six months, apply for extension for another six months, then the child goes to India for couple of months and then repeat the process again. What are the pitfalls in this approach? Can the child join elementary school on a tourist visa?

Can somebody help me?

Thanks

As far as I know the 180 day bar, and the year bar does not apply if the person is less than 18, but I do not know if it makes the kid inelegible for adjustment.

Verma03-027 said:
I'm a recent permanent resident and a month before approval I adopted a 7-yr old child. I found out that I can't bring her here easily. If I understand correctly, I can't bring her here and apply for her permanent residencey as the child has not lived with us for two years. :eek: Now the question is how do I satisfy this two year condition? One way I can bring the child here is to wait for five yrs, get citizenship and then bring the child here. But this is not a solution that I'mlooking for.

Another way I thought is to get the child on tourist Visa for six months, apply for extension for another six months, then the child goes to India for couple of months and then repeat the process again. What are the pitfalls in this approach? Can the child join elementary school on a tourist visa?

Can somebody help me?

Thanks

This my limited knowledge about adoption: