Non Compete Agreement with Employer

kkpr

Registered Users (C)
I am a software engineer. My current client where I work currently, has informed my employer (ABC,Inc) that they were not going to extend the current contract after 9/30/2007. So ABC,Inc will have to place me somewhere else, which is very unlikely. So looks like ABC,Inc will let me go. So I have to find another job after 9/30/2007. I work on EAD so I can change employer.

The current client has opened a contract for bidding for the position currently I am working on. I have registered my company in January 2007. As per the contract requirement I (my own company) am eligible to bid for a contract and chances are I can win it.

I have a Non Compete agreement with ABC,Inc which is as follows:

--------------------------

"COVENANT NOT TO COMPETE: Employee agrees that he/she during the course of Employee's employment or for a period of three(3) years commencing upon the expiration of his/her employment, will not for any reasons whatsoever, directly or indirectly, individually or on behalf of persons not now parties to this agreement, or as a partner, stockholder, director, officer, principal, agent, employee or in any other capacity or relationship, engage in any business or employment, or aid or endeavor to assist any business or legal entity or any ABC,Inc customers being supported by the employee to compete with ABC,Inc.

ABC,Inc and Employee acknowledge the reasonableness of this covenant not to compete and the reasonableness of the geographic area and duration of time which are a part of said covenant."

--------------------------
Important: In my current contract, in last two years about 6 to 7 ABC,Inc employees who had the same agreement with ABC,Inc, have joined my current client as government employees for the same position they used to work. Currently I am the only ABC,Inc employee left in this contract. ABC,Inc has let all other people join the government without any problem.