NIW requires permanent position?

willowbrook

Registered Users (C)
I am a postdoc right now. Is this considered permanent position?
If not, in form I-140, I guess I will select No to permanent position. Does this disqualify my NIW? (I think NIW is not employment based, but heard someone saying being denied NIW because of non-permanent position.

Thank you!

last month my friend got his I-140 approved in 4 weeks, he filed NIW.
he is a post-doc, but 6 years experience, and 17 publications(not all first author).

his strength was that he is working in gene therapy, and his last 3 publications had very good citations(max 50). max impact factor was around 10.

so judge your application based on this practical example.

75% post doc position

willowbrook said:
If not, in form I-140, I guess I will select No to permanent position. Does this disqualify my NIW? (I think NIW is not employment based, but heard someone saying being denied NIW because of non-permanent position.

Thank you!

I am 75% post doc and was wondering whether I could apply for NIW. Please suggest.

gaur said:
I am 75% post doc and was wondering whether I could apply for NIW. Please suggest.

What does it mean to be 75% postdoc ? what about the rest, 25% martian ?
And to give recommendation you should explain your case in detail otherwise it is impossible

I'm a postdoc, too. And it's usually not considered as a permanent position. For example, my university's policy states clearly that they would not sponsor immigration for "non-permanent positions" such as postdocs. But I do know a friend of my wife's, who was a postdoc in a so-so university that didn't care and didn't have clear policy on this regard. So, that person was able to apply through EB-1b and claimed that she had a permanent position though she was actually a postdoc... So, guess it really depends.

willowbrook said:

Thank you!

Madison,