n-400 - Selective Service issue.

jnm

Registered Users (C)
I am currently a Permanent Resident and received my Green Card in 5/1985. I was born in 7/1958. Prior to receiving my Permanent Residency, I was on an H1 visa, issued in December, 1984. I had always been in legal non-immigrant status until receiving my green card. would I have needed to register for Selective Service?
I was looking at the Selective Service website http://www.sss.gov/fsmen.htm and saw that I fell into the category below:
“* Men born from March 29, 1957 to December 31, 1959 were never required to register because the registration program was not in operation at the time they turned 18. The requirement to register was reinstated in 1980 and applies to all men born on or after January 1, 1960.”
I have applied for n-400 and did not register for Selective Service as I didn\'t know I needed to. based on the comment above on the Selective Service did I ever need to register with Selective Service?

YOU ARE NOT REQUIRED TO GET ANY LETTER

Regards selective service and N 400.

Read - A GUIDE TO NATURALIZATION, by INS, Form M-476(Rev3/99).

Page 28.

Selective service. Male between 18-26 who lived in US during that age MUST register. BUT, male who first entered US AFTER they turned 26 years old are EXCEMPT from the requirement to register.

If you FIRST entered US AFTER you were 26 years old. If so you DO NOT have to contact the selective services for any letter.

Hope it helps.

d sm

Where Does It Say So?

Joe F

Where does it say that one HAS to get a letter even if they are excempt from registering in selective services?.
In Page 28 of the - A Guide To Naturalization - It clearly states that a. If older than 26 you do not have to register, b. ONLY if you are required to register, then you have to recieve a "status information letter" and send it along with your application to the INS.

Any Other experiences with the selective services??