j1 visa options........pls advise

brian123

Registered Users (C)
Hello,

I am a foreign physician, currently on a NON-ECFMG sponsored J1 Research Visa, contracted till March,09, subject to a 2 year HRR.

I wish to apply to an MD training program subsequent to this research tenure. I have cleared my USMLE step exams. I wish to know the following things:

1. To get a residency on a J1, which would start in July,09, would a transfer from a J1 research to j1 clinical be permissible? What would I need to do for it? Would I need any gap to transfer from J1 research to J1 clinical? I have heard of a 12 month bar [is is only for re-entry as a professor and not as a physician?]

2. Would filing for a waiver and then getting a H1 from my current employer (research) be a better option. Also, will it make me ineligible for the ECFMG j1 clinical sponsorship in the future?

3. How early I can file for a j1 waiver? Will the fact that I am filing for my waiver too early hold against me?

3. Which of the above options would be feasible for me in terms of cost and time?

4) In summary, is filing for a J1 waiver and going for h1 more sensible or is a transfer to a j1 clinical more reasonable? Also, what about the total time one spends on the J1? ECFMG tells me that they issue a 7 year J1 clinical regardless of what time has been spent earlier. [ i dont think thats correct]

5) I hear the J1 research to J1 clinical transfer is very difficult. Is this true?

thank you for reading!

I don't know much about transferring from J-1 research to J-1 clinic, but you should be aware of some new J-1 rules (summarized here) that may or may not apply to you regarding switching to another J program. These are the one-year rule and the two-year rule (SEPARATE from the 2-year HRR).

To answer generally, the sooner you rid yourself of J status, the better. You should aim to change to another status, like H1, as soon as possible if you plan to remain in the US.