J-1 Waiver / Sponsor Views and Skills List

achilleas

Registered Users (C)
Hi,

I am a student from Cyprus (EU) and I came here on the Fulbright Scholarship. My sponsor on my DS-2019 is the US Department of State and all my paperwork was handled by the Institute of International Education (IIE).

I recently applied for the J-1 Waiver and I am still waiting to hear back from the US DoS.

Here is my situation:
(1) I am on a "Traditional Fulbright Scholarship" which means I only received $6K to relocate here to the U.S. No other funding was received.
(2) My country is not on the skills list anymore according to the J-1 Waiver website and the 2009 Skills List . It is also stated there that if my country is out of the skills list I am not subject to the 2yr requirement. I was told that this is different for Fulbright Scholars. Any clue?
(3) I am currently on an F-1 VISA.
(4) Currently doing my F-1 OPT

Here is my timeline:
------------------------
No Objection Statement Received March 01, 2010
Request for Sponsor Views Sent March 01, 2010
Sponsor Views Requested March 01, 2010
Fee Received February 22, 2010
Form DS-3035 Received February 22, 2010
Form DS-2019 Received February 22, 2010
Passport Data Page Received February 22, 2010
Statement Of Reason Received February 22, 2010

Questions:
-------------
(1) Am I or am I not subject to the 2yr requirement?
(2) Should I try and contact my sponsor? Who is my sponsor? The IIE, the US Department of State or the Fulbright Commission in Cyprus? How do I find who to contact? I called the waiver office and they said they cannot tell me who my sponsor is, something which I do understand.
(3) Is the wait time I am facing, normal?