Important Question for the GURUS---Just received the Green Card

captainv1234

Registered Users (C)
I have just received the green card last week. I have couple of very simple questions, I will be very happy if someone can answer them. The last question is the most important one... Your expertise on these topics are greatly appreciated

1) I am planning to leave for my home country in about 2 weeks for a 1 MONTH vacation. Do I need to only take my physical green card and passport with me ? Will they be enough for my reentry?

2) Do those kind of 1 MONTH vacations dangerous such that I can loose my permanent resident status?

3) MOST IMPORTANTLY, 1 year from now I will go to my home country for a 9 month period... However, I will come to US every 3 months and stay here like 2 weeks to 4 weeks each time...The reason of my visit is that I am a professor here and I have the right to take a leave of absence (in academics we sometimes have this right) and would like to spend this leave of absence to go to my home country and teach there for two semester (even less than 9 months actually)... But then I will come back and resume my professorship for the following years semesters.

Does this have any consequences???
Do I have to take a Reentry Permit???
Will it be a problem at the border such that the officer takes my card and deletes my Permanent Resident Status???....

Just one more info... Even when I leave I will have by bank accounts active and I may even have an apartment lease on my name although I may sublet it..

Thank you very much for your valuable responses in advance.

I have just received the green card last week. I have couple of very simple questions, I will be very happy if someone can answer them. The last question is the most important one... Your expertise on these topics are greatly appreciated