I know this forum is not for this but please.....

comeongc

Registered Users (C)
Help me in finding the answer for my question..
I already spent almost a month on web..dropping email to various institution but noone replied..

I want to transfer my money from india to USA ..

Does any of you know how can it be done...in a legal way...

Thanks a lot...in advance

You can open an NRI account in ICICI, Citibank, SBI etc and put your money in $ there. You can use that money here. Go to their web sites and talk to them on phone too.

Transfer of money from India to US or vice versa is very much legal if your transaction is using a check (not cash).

You can very much deposit a check for INR in your bank in US. Only thing is that your bank will charge some commission for currency conversion and it will take about 25 days to clear.

I'm not a financial expert but this is my understanding as how it works.

In past there were times when I did deposit a check for US$ in India and there was no problem. I'm assuming that vice versa must be true too.

I don't know the tax implications of this process. In India I had to declare this money as my income and pay taxes. It should be simelar here too (may be consult a financial expert).

Hope this helps.

Originally posted by thukralrk
Transfer of money from India to US or vice versa is very much legal if your transaction is using a check (not cash).

You can very much deposit a check for INR in your bank in US. Only thing is that your bank will charge some commission for currency conversion and it will take about 25 days to clear.

I'm not a financial expert but this is my understanding as how it works.

In past there were times when I did deposit a check for US$ in India and there was no problem. I'm assuming that vice versa must be true too.

I don't know the tax implications of this process. In India I had to declare this money as my income and pay taxes. It should be simelar here too (may be consult a financial expert).