I-94 Name Issue FNU

rpbang

Registered Users (C)
Hi All,
I am travelling to US next month. My first name in the VISA(b1) is written as "FNU". What excatly shall I enter my first name as in I-94 ?

Can I enter "FNU" as my first name ?

Has anybody got any experience in this area?

Pls guide ?

REgards,
rp.

rpbang said:
Hi All,
I am travelling to US next month. My first name in the VISA(b1) is written as "FNU". What excatly shall I enter my first name as in I-94 ?

Can I enter "FNU" as my first name ?

Has anybody got any experience in this area?

Pls guide ?

REgards,
rp.
Is ur first name "FNU"? If yes, then put that. If not, the get the visa corrected.

P.S. I am not a lawyer and dont pretend to be one. Info to be used at ur own risk.

Hi,
Thank you for the reply. Yes my first name in Visa is "FNU". My fullname is written in the surname section.

So in I-94 I can enter FNU as first name , right ?

I believe the only problem it creates is when you apply for the DL in US, which anyway I am not going to do.

Regards,
Rohit

FNU stands for first name unknown. This is an indication that either the applicant had only one name (the last name) or the person processing the application could not parse the name into its individual components.

Answer Please

Thank you replying but can you reply to the following query

My query was "Can I enter FNU as my first name when Iam filling the I-94 form?"

Yes, in my VISA it is FNU as the first name but is it a RULE to enter this as my first name in I-94 also ?

Hope I am making myself clear.

Thank you
RP.

You have to go an make the correction and give them the right first name, family name and middle name if any, if you give an a I-94 form the FNU as a first name you will have problems afterwards with yours documents in US

I would approach the consulate first. If that is not feasible, I would ask the immigration official at the port of entry for advice on how to enter your name.